The District Umpire-in-Chief is an elected position and  represents Softball BC in each district under the direction of the Provincial Umpire-in-Chief. 


The DUIC act as a liaison between the PUIC and the umpires and umpire associations in their district. 


They administer all Softball BC Umpire activities within the district including clinics, evaluation, Provinical Tournaments and education of the district's umpires. In addition, they provide rule interpretations to umpires, coaches and leagues.


District 1 - Craig Holyhead

Major Centres: Victoria, Saanich, Oak Bay, the Western Communities, View Royal, Sooke, the Saanich Peninsula, and the Southern Gulf Islands.

Email: circon@telus.net Phone: 250-361-7040

District 2 - Shawn Miller

Major Centres: Nanaimo, Parksville, Port Alberni, Ladysmith, Ucluelet, Nanoose, Cedar, Tofino, Bowser, Errington, Lantzville, Qualicum.

Email: d2umpireinchief@softball.bc.ca

District 3 - Karl Kurpiela

Major Centres: Campbell River, Comox, Cumberland, Courtenay, Quadra, Merville, Powell River, San Josef, Port Hardy, Coal Harbour, Gold River, Woss, Lazo, Tahsis, Texada, Sayward, Port McNeil, Holberg, Sointula, Port Alice, Bella Bella, Ocean Falls

Email: k_kurpiela@hotmail.com

District 4 - Geoff Bowering

The Regional Districts of Squamish-Lillooet (excluding Electorial Areas A & B), Sunshine Coast, The Corporations of the Districts of North and West Vancouver, the Village of Lions Bay 
Major Centres: North Vancouver, Squamish, Garibaldi Highlands, Britannia, Whistler, Pemberton, Gibsons, West Vancouver, Shalath, Seton Portage, Brackendale, Bowen Island

Email: uic@nsfastpitch.ca

District 5 - Teresa Erickson

The City of Richmond , Vancouver

Major Centres: Richmond, Vancouver

Email: d5umpireinchief@softball.bc.ca

District 6 - Jennifer Goepel

The Corporation of District of Burnaby, The Corporation of the City of New Westminster, the District of Coquitlam, The Corporation of the City of Port Coquitlam and the City of Port Moody 
Major Centres: Burnaby, New Westminster, Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam and Port Moody

Email: jennifergoepel@gmail.com

District 7 - Kyle Dennedy

The City of Surrey, The Corporation of the City of White Rock 
Major Centres: Surrey including White Rock, Fleetwood, Cloverdale, Guildford, Newton and Whalley

Email: kdennedy@shaw.ca Phone: 604-807-6041

District 8 - Kiera Hamm

Regional Districts of Central Fraser Valley, Fraser-Cheam 
Major Centres: Aldergrove, Abbotsford, Clearbrook, Chilliwack, Bradner, Yarrow, Hope, Agassiz, Sardis, Vedder Crossing, Langley City, and Township of Langley

Email: d8umpireinchief@softball.bc.ca

District 9 - Brad Snyder

Regional Districts of Central Okanagan, North Okanagan 
Major Centres: Kelowna, Penticton, Salmon Arm, Vernon, Rutland, Sicamous, Winfield, Armstrong, Sorrento, Chase, Celista, Princeton, Revelstoke, Westbank, Peachland, Oliver, Cawston, Keremeos, Summerland, Lumby, Pritchard, Enderby, Osoyoos

Email: d9umpirebrad@telus.net Phone: 250-540-2085

District 10 - Garry Postnikoff

Regional Districts of Central Kootenay, East Kootenay, Kootenay Boundary and Electoral Area ‘A’ of Columbia-Shuswap Regional District 
Major Centres: Cranbrook, Castlegar, Trail, Blueberry Creek, Salmo, Montrose, Robson, Yahk, Creston, Marysville, Invermere, Nelson, Fernie, Grand Forks, Winlaw, Windermere, Fruitvale, Sparwood, Golden, Edgewater, Kimberley, Radium, Nakusp, Burton, Kaslo, Jaffrey

Email: pozzy53@gmail.com

District 11 - Vacant

Regional Districts of Thompson-Nicola, Electoral Area A & B of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District 
Major Centres: Kamloops, Barriere, Merritt, Lone Butte, Darfield, McLure, Logan Lake, Louis Creek, Vavenby, Clearwater, Birch Island, Ashcroft, Cache Creek, Lytton, Clinton, Lillooet

Email: provincialuic@softball.bc.ca

District 12 - Ken Edwards

The Regional Districts of Cariboo, Fraser-Fort George, Peace River-Liard and Central Coast Electoral Areas C,D,E 
Major Centres: Prince George, Taylor, Willow River, Lac La Hache, Quesnel, Pouce Coupe, Chetwynd, Williams Lake, Fort St. John, Mackenzie, Hixon, Dawson Creek, Valemount, McBride, 100 Mile House, Fort Nelson, Bella Coola

Email: d12umpireinchief@softball.bc.ca Phone: 250-983-2060

District 13 - Geoff Watt

The Regional Districts of Bulkley – Nechako, Kitimat-Stikine, Skeena-Queen Charlotte and the unorganized Stikine Area 
Major Centres: Prince Rupert, Terrace, Kitimat, Queen Charlotte Island, Houston, Thornhill, Port Clements, Masset, Hazelton, Telkwa, Fraser Lake, Smithers, Fort St. James, Sandspit, Vanderhoof, Kitwanga, Fort Fraser, Burns Lake, Port Edward

Email: gcwatt@telus.net Phone: 250-615-2297

District 14 - Bill Kazlin

Regional District of Dewdney-Alouette,

Major Centres: Maple Ridge, Pitt Meadows, Whonnock, Mission and Deroche

Email: d14uic@softball.bc.ca

District 15 - Jennifer Goepel

The Corporation of Delta 
Major Centres: Ladner, Delta, Tsawwassen

Email: jennifergoepel@gmail.com

Please reload